Exhibitions Le-Grand-Hornu Agenda Education/animations collections Practical-information abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz

Hors pistes

Encounters in Greenland Sunday 03 february > Sunday 19 may

DATES
From 3 February to 19 May 2019
PLACE
Atrium and Lampisterie
OPENING
Saturday 16 February at 6pm
CHILDREN'S OPENING
Saturday 16 February at 5pm
reservations: 
+32 (0)65 61 39 02
reservations@grand-hornu.be

Share

Through residencies, Hors Pistes initiates creative exchanges between artisans and designers from all over the world. During a month-long residency, they share skills, knowledge, and cultures. By breaking their work habits, they rethink their creation process and find new application to the traditional techniques. Together, artisans and designers experiment and get inspired from the identity of the territory. The results of the collaboration foster the transfer of artisanal know-how and question its heritage and future. 


By going “off-road”, Hors Pistes offers professionals the opportunity to be involved in a multidisciplinary laboratory and to reflect on conventional production models by encouraging innovative creation processes. Free-form explorations, alternative life stories. In 2014, the CID hosted the first Ouagadougou Off-piste experience. In 2019, it is the first museum to host the third edition of the project: Hors Pistes Nuuk. 
This new residence took place in Nuuk, the capital of Greenland, an island with limited natural resources and a harsh climate. The local artisanal techniques take the surrounding geographical constraints into account and the Inuit culture is deeply connected to its land. The craftsmen find their inspiration in nature and work with materials such as stone, wood, soil, wool, skin, and bones of hunted animals. Altered during the last century by the various exchanges with the Western regions, Inuit traditions are being transformed with globalisation. If they were essential for survival, fishing and hunting practices are less and less used. This gradual disappearance endangers the related craft techniques, such as animal skin transformation or traditional kayak making. In the meantime, new techniques are being introduced and absorbed, such as embroidery, beadwork, or ceramic. 


The exhibition “Hors pistes Nuuk” aims to initiate encounters with Greenlandic culture, replace human exchanges at the heart of the creative processes. While the experimentations, prototypes and objects –all resulting from the researches conducted during the residency– embody the spirit of each encounter, the present exhibition also shares stories –narrated by an editorial team.

Glass-Oriented Design

The collection of the Cirva Sunday 17 february > Sunday 26 may

Centre d'innovation et de design au Grand-Hornu
Exhibitions 2018
Together ! The Limits to Growth! Benoît Deneufbourg
Exhibitions current
Hors pistes Glass-Oriented Design
Exhibitions soon
Design on air Nature Morte/Nature Vivante Serial Eater
fr nl en
MAC'S Press Corner Partenaires Newsletter Facebook

Expositions Le-Grand-Hornu Agenda Éducation/animations collections Infos-pratiques abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz

Hors pistes

Rencontres au Groenland dimanche 03 février 2019 > dimanche 19 mai 2019

DATES
Du 3 février au 19 mai 2019
LIEUX
Atrium et Lampisterie
VERNISSAGE
Samedi 16 février à 18h
VERNISSAGE DES ENFANTS
Samedi 16 février à 17h
réservations : 
+32 (0)65 61 39 02
reservations@grand-hornu.be
Share
À travers l’organisation de résidences, Hors Pistes initie des échanges créatifs entre artisans et designers du monde entier. Durant un mois, ces derniers mettent en commun leurs compétences, cultures et s’inspirent de l’identité du territoire environnant. 
Les résidences encouragent la transmission des savoir-faire artisanaux, et posent également la question de leur héritage et devenir, en proposant de nouvelles applications aux techniques traditionnelles. 

Véritable laboratoire transdisciplinaire, Hors Pistes questionne les modes de production habituels et invente des processus de création inédits, hors des sentiers battus. En 2014, le CID avait accueilli la première expérience Hors Pistes Ouagadougou. En 2019, il est le premier musée à accueillir la troisième édition du projet : Hors Pistes. Nuuk.
Cette nouvelle résidence s’est tenue à Nuuk, la capitale du Groenland, une île aux ressources naturelles limitées et au climat rigoureux. Les techniques artisanales tiennent compte de ces contraintes géographiques. La culture inuit découle du territoire qui l’abrite. Les artisans trouvent leur inspiration dans la nature et travaillent des matériaux tels que la pierre, le bois, la terre, la laine, les peaux et les os des animaux qu’ils chassent. Déjà altérée au siècle dernier par les différents échanges avec l’Occident, les traditions culturelles inuits se transforment au contact de la mondialisation. Autrefois indispensables pour la survie, les activités de pêche et de chasse sont aujourd’hui de moins en moins pratiquées affectant les artisanats directement liés, tels que le travail de la peau animale ou la fabrication de kayaks. 

L’exposition « Hors Pistes Nuuk » invite à découvrir l’artisanat groenlandais, replaçant l’humain au cœur des échanges avec le Groenland. Les expérimentations, prototypes et objets issus des recherches menées pendant la résidence relatent l’unicité de chaque rencontre. L’exposition partage également les histoires nées de ce contexte, et mises en forme par l’équipe éditoriale.  

Design orienté verre

dimanche 17 février 2019 > dimanche 26 mai 2019

Centre d'innovation et de design au Grand-Hornu
Expositions 2018
Together ! Halte à la croissance!
Expositions en cours
Benoît Deneufbourg
Expositions à venir
Hors pistes Design orienté verre L’air du design
fr nl en
MAC'S Press Corner Partenaires Newsletter Facebook