Exhibitions Le-Grand-Hornu News Education/animations collections Practical-information abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz

Linking parts

Sunday 25 may 2014 > Sunday 24 august 2014

DATES
May 25 to August 24 2014
PLACE
Aile Nord
Link
Transnatural, art & design Label
Share

The Amsterdam based Transnatural agency organizes events & represents the Label in which technology plays by the rules of nature.

Grand-Hornu Images and Transnatural make their aspirations converge to an approach made out of scientific rigor, aesthetic sensitivity and pleasure of discovering in an exhibition that intends to feed a reflection on contemporary art and design in their relationship with the technological, social and natural environment of today.

The "Linking Parts" exhibition offers the Grand Hornu’s visitors a chance to look at different kinds of collaboration and organization with artists, designers and scientists. These collaborations can lead to systems of combined cleverness. What happens if we throw the capabilities and features of humans, animals, plants and machines all together and consider them as possible parts of new entities? Without any rules and pre-occupations about where a new combination should fit in, we let these new entities lead their own course. New, smart entities are shaped by the combination of modern and classical components.

From microorganisms that degrade plastics into harmless material, machines that give suggestions during the design process or bee burrows made from city wood waste, to beautifully executed symbiosis between two fungal organisms that can turn man-made synthetic materials into harmless bio-mass. Photo luminescent skins developed to convert waste energy back into visible light, or even 3D printing combined together with organic growing material – the exhibition will present enchanting and daring new work; a dazzling experience for the senses and mind.

Works include a.o. Erik Klarenbeek’s Mycelium Chair, Jalila Essaidi’s 2.6g 329m/s (Bulletproof Skin), Maurizio Montalti ‘sSystem Synthetics, Mike Thompson and Gionata Gatto’s Trace Light, Tim van Comvoirt’s Thermophores and Studio 1:1’s Biological Clock.


Linking Parts is curated by Arjen Bangma in thematical editorial cooperation with Klaas Kuitenbrouwer.



Hors Pistes

Sunday 25 may 2014 > Sunday 17 august 2014

Centre d'innovation et de design au Grand-Hornu
Exhibitions 2014
Le Labo des Héritiers Linking parts Hors Pistes Tranches de vie Alvar Aalto
fr nl en

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe our newsletter

MAC'S Press Corner Partenaires Newsletter Facebook

Expositions Le-Grand-Hornu Actualités Éducation/animations collections Infos-pratiques abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz

Linking parts

dimanche 25 mai 2014 > dimanche 24 août 2014

DATES
25 mai au 24 août 2014
Lieu
Aile Nord
Lien
Transnatural, art & design Label

Share

Basée à Amsterdam,l’agence Transnatural organise des événements et représente le label du même nom, orientés sur le jeu entre technologie et règles de la nature.

Grand-Hornu Images et Transnatural font converger leurs aspirations à une approche faite de rigueur scientifique, sensibilité esthétique et plaisir de découvrir dans une exposition qui entend nourrir une réflexion sur l’art et le design contemporains dans leur relation avec l’environnement technologique, social et naturel d’aujourd’hui.

L’exposition Linking Parts offre aux visiteurs la possibilité d’être les témoins de différents types de collaboration entre artistes, designers et scientifiques. Ces collaborations peuvent engendrer des systèmes empreints d’une ingéniosité collective. Que se passe-t-il si nous associons les capacités et les caractéristiques des hommes, des animaux, des plantes et des machines en les considérant comme les éventuelles composantes de nouvelles réalités? Sans édicter de règles, nous laissons ces nouvelles réalités suivre leur propre chemin.


De microorganismes qui dégradent les plastiques en matière inoffensive (terriers d’abeilles fabriqués avec des déchets de bois urbain, par exemple) à la symbiose entre deux organismes fongiques pouvant transformer des matières synthétiques fabriquées par l’homme en biomasse, en passant par des revêtements photoluminescents mis au point pour convertir l’énergie résiduelle en lumière visible ou même l’impression 3D combinée à des matières organiques en croissance... l’exposition présentera des travaux originaux, fascinants et audacieux. Une expérience impressionnante pour les sens et l’esprit.


Parmi ces travaux figurent notamment Mycelanium Chair d’Erik Klarenbeek, Trace Light de Mike Thompson et Gionata Gatto, Thermophores de Tim van Cromvoirt et System Synthetics de Maurizio Montalti (IT/NL).

Linking Parts est organisée sous le commissariat d’Arjen Bangma avec la collaboration éditoriale de Klaas Kuitenbrouwer (thématique).


Hors Pistes

dimanche 25 mai 2014 > dimanche 17 août 2014

Centre d'innovation et de design au Grand-Hornu
Expositions 2014
Le Labo des Héritiers Linking parts Hors Pistes Tranches de vie Alvar Aalto
fr nl en

NEWSLETTER

Abonnez vous à notre newsletter

MAC'S Press Corner Partenaires Newsletter Facebook